Sunday Balance

Sunday was a great day. My knee has been bothering me so rather than my long run I did an hour and fifteen minutes on the elliptical. Luckily I had Gossip Girl to keep me company, courtesy of the new Netflix app that I downloaded on my iPad. For some reason my feet get numb after a bit so I had to stop several times to shake out my feet.

After a yummy brunch/late breakfast and some major cleaning, my mom and sister came over. We hung out for a bit and then headed out for some errands together. The bookstore was our first stop. I bought Ann Patchett’s new book, State of Wonder for my book club next month. I spent the majority of the time in the young adult section. There were so many books that I wanted to read and buy!

20120702-204536.jpg

20120702-205558.jpg

After the bookstore we went to the pharmacy and then out to lunch. We went to our favorite place, Yama. It is a Japenese and Korean restaurant. One of the best parts about Yama is the little appetizers they give you. My mom said that these are actually all fermented foods. The shredded diakon was delicious. I think that it had sugar and rice vinegar on it.  There was also sprouted mung beans and cucumbers in a spicy dressing. We also ordered two sushi roles to tide us over while we looked at the menu.

20120702-204251.jpg

 

So many delicious options on the menu!! I finally went with number 41, Kopdul Biibimbip.

20120702-205537.jpg

It comes in a piping hot ceramic bowl. The rice is on the bottom and you can hear it sizzling when they bring it to you. In retrospect I wish that I had ordered brown rice. Unfortunately, the dish was missing the mushrooms were missing. I am bad at asking waiters to bring things back, or even to address issues… It was still delicious though.

20120702-204514.jpg

My sister got a Korean soup. It had seafood and fat udon noodles in it and it was really really spicy! I had several bites of it.

20120702-204446.jpg

 

After lunch we had a few more errands. We hit up a local thrift store and I got a United Colors of Benetton dress, a Jcrew dress and a Jcrew shirt. Score!

Then we headed to TJ Maxx. My mom needed shoes for a wedding. Sister and I loaded up the cart while Mom had to go next door for something else. Unfortunately, no luck for her on the shoe front. I tried on a dress though. Even though I loved it, I didn’t get it. I was drawn to the blue and white stripes for July 4th but I couldn’t justify spending $30 on it, while I just bought two dresses for less than $10!

20120702-205342.jpg

 

When we got back to my place, we sat out on the porch with Gin and Tonics. Delicious! We had several rounds with snacks and then made dinner. It was a late dinner- like 9:30! We marinated portabella mushrooms and then melted brie on them. On the side we had a salad with blue cheese, cut up dried apricots (I usually use dried cranberries, but I was out), and walnuts with a homemade balsamic dressing.

20120702-205408.jpg

 

 

 

 

I love Sundays where I can get some work done but play too!

Leave a Reply

